top of page
Search
  • Elizabeth Hughes

Worth Waiting For/Worth Finding


A lot of times when I talk to people in general about the subject of marriage or why I am still single comes up they think its weird that I am waiting for marriage and the right man. Or it seems like they think its weird that I have set myself apart from how the rest of the world operates. Their probably thinking finding someone worth waiting for is like finding a great piece of wood almost nearly impossible, but with God all things are possible. However, the question that comes to mind is, have those people in general I’ve encountered lost hope in finding someone worth waiting for? Or have they given up hope or faith in God to bring them one? Or have past experiences closed off their heart from experiencing God’s best for their lives? Have they completely lost faith in God? Or that there is a loving God who does great things? Have past experiences closed off those people in general I’ve encountered that they have given up on trusting God? Yet, being single is not always easy as pie. It can be hard at times, it also requires trusting God with my heart’s desire of finding a man worth waiting and aligning it to God’s will. It also means trusting God’s timing and not mine. The reason it can be hard at times watching others get married before or starting their own families when you have this deep desire to have those things as well. But I know that God’s timing does not fail it is perfect, and I know he is preparing the way for me. So I have to rest in His love and trust him, because God is trustworthy. He has never failed me before and he won’t now. For example he helped me through college in passing each class he gave me the strength to write those exhausting papers, and helped me understand what I needed to learn. He helped me find a job after college even though it took a couple years to find it, and it was in His timing not mine. And he brought me to a home church that is encouraging, that builds my faith and challenges me to be more like Christ. The point is God has not failed me, and he will never fail me. It is just in this waiting that I can’t lose hope in his timing and I can’t lose faith, because I know he will work things out for my good. Thus, I can’t look back on the past or past experiences that may hinder me from trusting God. I have to lean on His truth nothing else. Also, I can’t believe the lies the enemy tries to tell me, and I can’t believe the ones that I try to tell myself. I have to rest and believe that he does have someone for me, that there is a man who is worth waiting for. Although I’ve also been learning some things about what a lasting marriage looks like in this time of waiting. For instance a lasting marriage consists of forgiveness constantly even when we get hurt, or angry, or want to run away. It is about going back and forgiving the other person despite how we feel, because God calls us to forgive always. Also it consists of loving the other person always and not running away when they do or say something we don’t like or agree with. It is about standing by their side when they are at their weakest, their strongest, and most of all when they feel alone. It also consists of standing in the grit of things, in the hard times and coming along side them an encouraging them when they’ve lost sight of things. It also involves celebrating the other person in triumphs, in victories, and believing in them too, and making compromises, or sacrifices as well. Moreover, it consists of giving the other person grace and room to be themselves, allowing them to own their feelings and their actions. The point is it is about giving them room to be perfectly imperfect. Also a lasting marriage can consist of building each other up, but also reminding each other of who they are in Christ. And how you see the best of the other person. In essence God is teaching me so much in this time of waiting for my worth waiting for, and that there is someone worth fighting for, worth praying over, and most of all someone who is gonna be worth loving in return. So I will leave with these questions; are you waiting for that person worth waiting for? If so then do not give up hope and trust in God, Or do you need to realize that God is your worth waiting for? If so he will fill those empty places within your heart that need to be filled. And he will give you all you need that no one on this earth could give you.

Photo Credit (2018) wix.com

 

P

72 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page