top of page
Search
  • Elizabeth Hughes

Promise By Faith!




Do you believe God calls into existence the things that are not as though they are?


Believing for God's promises before we see it. That is faith. Trusting God to call things that are not as if they already are is an act of faith. It is the very essence of being a believer in Christ. Waiting for the promise to arrive is a daily choice of knowing—believing God will do what He say He will. It is shaking off the dust and old lies that you have bought into in the past and saying No More! I know my God is faithful!


Take Abraham and Sarah, if they did not believe God for the child of promise of God they would not have received Isaac. Now Abraham and Sarah did try to jump ahead of God and get the child their own and failed. But they still had faith God would bring that child to them. Abraham believed God would do what He said He would. God did give them the child.


“That is why it depends on faith, in order that the promise may rest on grace and be guaranteed to all his offspring—not only to the adherent of the law but also to the one who shares the faith of Abraham, who is the father of us all, as it is written, “I have made you the father of many nations”—in the presence of the God in whom he believed, who gives life to the dead and calls into existence the things that do not exist. In hope he believed against hope, that he should become the father of many nations, as he had been told, “so shall your offspring be.” He did not weaken in faith when he considered his own body, which was good as dead (since he was about a hundred years old), or when he considered the barrenness of Sarah’s womb. No unbelief made him waver concerning the promise of God, but he grew strong in his faith as he gave glory to God, fully convinced that God was able to do what he had promised. That is why his faith was “counted to him as righteousness.”

Romans 4: 16-22 ESV


There is a lot of truth tucked inside this scripture. I love this scripture. It comes alive and speaks to us in new ways. The last time I rested on where it says Abraham was fully convinced, really stood out to me because He did not back down from what he believed God promised.


Looking at it again with fresh eyes about how Abraham did not weaken in his faith but grew in strength is mind blowing. God called what was dead back to life, calling what does not exist into existence. What a powerful word to soak in. I love how God’s word comes alive with new revelation to refine and purify our hearts.


If you take all the times in your life when you did not think it possible for God to do something, but He did. Would you be able to count them all? I know that I cannot count them all in my own life. There have been many times where God has blown my mind in how He has provided and come through for me.


Recently, I went to a women’s conference where I knew I was supposed to be there to speak over women about how to break free from false labels to break agreements with them. So they could walk in freedom. But did God show up and reveal to me that if I had not found freedom in this, I would not have been a vessel for Him to speak through me. God showed me I had some agreements to break that weekend as well. He also showed me to strengthen my faith. I needed to let go of things I was saying about myself to speak life not death.


You’re probably wondering what does breaking agreements have to do with believing for the promises of God and not wavering from the promises God has spoken over you. Well, let me say to walk in freedom of Christ, we cannot stand in false agreements. Sometimes, we need to break agreements with things we have believed about ourselves or our circumstances to walk in the freedom God has given us to step into the promise He is giving us.


God calls the promises into existence that do not exist as though they already are!


I am unsure why this is hard for us to grasp in our walk of faith. When we believe God created man in His own image. But it might be hard to believe God can be this good when we’ve been hurt or wounded in this walk of faith because of struggles or trials. But God is this good. He calls what was dead back to life and creates life because He created the world.


If there is something you believe is dead and need it to be brought back to life within you, ask God to revive it and restore it back to wholeness. God can revive your soul. He has good promises for you. I hope you have the faith to believe for it and the strength to keep believing for it. God wants to give you His promises over your life and to fill you with hope.


God is ready to give you His promises.

He is ready to strengthen your faith!


 

References:

The Holy Bible English Standard Version, Crossway Publishing, Wheaton IL, 2001,

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page